Baby Products: From Disposable to Biodegradable Designs.

For those of you who might not yet already know, I am 4 months into my pregnancy and very excited about bringing home a new baby! Now that the stressful part is over, I can finally concentrate on the fun aspects of motherhood. It’s been over 6 years since I’ve had to take care of an infant, and from what I can already tell, things have changed drastically, not only for myself, but in the world around us.

baby food pusher
guess what this might be?

Maybe it’s a pinch of maturity or a bite out of reality that has brought me to the conclusion that with this pregnancy I would be a little more conservative with the amount of items I purchase and quality of each product. With my first child, I couldn’t wait for all the baby shower gifts to start rolling in… from rompers to silver rattles, blankets, books, baby carriers and more! I even received gifts that looked like they may have been used in the 1800’s. Take a guess at what this item is, because I had no clue what it was when I unwrapped it!

Not to seem ungrateful, as most things I registered myself, I knew each gift was purchased and given from the heart. I used almost everything and have even kept many things as memorabilia or for use the second time around.

Cloth Diaper

6 Years Later

As I surf the internet and browse magazines, I have noticed the world around us has changed gears; we’ve gone from disposable to biodegradable. Pre-made, glass bottled baby food jars have been replaced by online recipes on how to make and freeze your own organic baby food. Washable baby diapers now come in a plethora of colors and patters. With names such as Kushies® and FuzziBunz®, what mother can’t resist the temptation to go green! Website’s like Kelly’s Closet make it easy for newbies like me to read about and make informed decisions about which diapers and liners to choose from.

I’m sure as the months go by I will read, learn and understand more about the products that have been made available to me. I am interested in finding more information on the plastic used in baby bottles and the ingredients in formulas. For now though, my mind is set on less is more.

One well designed washable diaper is better than 5 plastic disposable ones.

11 thoughts on “Baby Products: From Disposable to Biodegradable Designs.

  1. I don’t know what it is, but I could probably use it to scoop poop out of cloth diapers. I am a Kushies fan and I use by Babycook to make my own organic food for my 8 month old. I also love my diaper sprayer.

  2. Is it a Food Scraper? So I see you are moving into the cloth diaper market. I have a lot of friends using cloth so I will get the scoop on the best ones for poop!

  3. And, why do I need to push food around?
    Anyhoo, a diaper sprayer attaches to your toilet plumbing and is used to spray the chunks off the cloth diapers. It’s also advertised as a bidet for those not-so-fresh moments, but “no thanks” in my book.

    1. exactly my point! no need for a Food Pusher.
      The sprayer sounds like fun. LOL But I guess a mother’s job is never done. I also liked the idea someone gave on the O’Boy! Organic Facebook page.

      Throw all diapers in a diaper pail lined with a wahmie http://www.wahmies.com/pages/liners.php. When you are ready for laundry day just throw diapers (after spraying them down I suppose) and liner in the washing machine together.

  4. I cloth diaper and never used a sprayer. It seemed like it would be more of a mess to me. I just use a scraper if the poop doesn’t just fall right off the diaper and have had no problems. At the beginning I used prefolds and covers (all different brands) and now I just use Bum Genius pocket diapers. You can use that diaper pail liner, but a waterproof laundry bag does the same thing and may be cheaper (especially now with back to school, a lot of places have college dorm type stuff on sale). Good luck! I’ve been doing it for almost 18 months and it isn’t that bad.

Leave a Reply

